Carry On

Let me catch my breath and collect my thoughts
I won’t be long
Let me take in what you’ve said
Inhale your wanting words
Let me breathe out expressions of longing
While expressing my thoughts as they exit my mind
Making their way from the lips of contentment to waiting ears eager to hear something

It’s okay to breathe again
Catch me as I catch you getting too high
Off of everything that’s been said
Our Heartbeats drown us out as we try to speak
Leaving us with just the truth of our actions
As we carry on falling
It’s you I’ve fallen into

I didn’t even want you, but you made me want you
Now I need you to keep this beating heart going
You chased after me, now I chase after you
Following each other down through the valley of felt feelings
Past the present hesitance that’s been lingering around
Let’s follow the trail of words until they run out
Leaving us with just the truth of our actions
No questions asked
Take it as it is as we hang on holding onto each other

I’m your fool
You’re my tool
Make you smile while you fix me up
Put me together in your arms as I make you laugh away all your worries
We’ve never been in love before
But we know what it is

Breathe out so I can breathe you in again
Take me away as I am taken in by you
Lose yourself so I can find you next to me
As we carry on falling
It’s you I’ve fallen into

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

