Lay Low

Barely open eyes blur dreams with reality.
Don’t disturb my rest, let this ride rock me to sleep.
When will I be able to lay my head down without worry or somewhere to be?
I simply want to lay low under the influence of the moonlight.
I’d pay a pretty penny to find out why I can’t close up shop early without being called to action by my overactive consciousness?
I know that it’s not this place, its this space that I’m in inside my head that I’ve grown unfamiliar with.

I always fall for ideals, for people and for the same mistakes I’ve made before,
but lately I haven’t fallen asleep with company and that sense of peace that only a warm, wanting body brings.
Is it wrong to admit that I enjoy sleeping with women that I haven’t slept with?
I respect the innocence of the moment and trust in the intimacy of our unspoken intent.
Or maybe I just revel in not knowing how far we can go, either way I like it.

Exhaustion is to rest as obsession is to knowledge; too much of one thing can only be so go for so long before it brings you down.
Constant transition from one thing to the next keeps me in sync with that clock in my head that won’t stop ticking; ticking.
I seem to run just fine on E, but filling up on a little R&R wouldn’t kill me.
All I know is that I’ve been dying to show the world what I’m made of,
but maybe its time I gave it a rest and proved my worth to myself first, because it isn’t about what I do, it’s about how it’s done.
I’ll be on the next train to rock-a-bye baby any minute now, please don’t wake me up, let this ride rock me to sleep.
I simply want to lay low under the influence of the moonlight.
If you like you can come with me, just close your eyes and maybe I’ll see you on the other side.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

