Sister Company

I can feel you moving away so elegantly.
Take another step away from the way we used to be.
You can fill a room with your character even when you’re gone, that’s quite a feat.
I must admit that I will miss whatever this is.
I’ll miss watching out for you, even though you never asked or needed me to be there.
I promise that I’ll continue to grow a spine in your absence,
and I’ll find a reason to stand on my own.
I am happy for you because this is where you need to be in order to be who you want to be.

You may be one million miles away, but I’ll still find you.
I’ll still find you where you always found me; by your side.
It’s so easy to confuse distance with separation,
but I’ve found that the space between isn’t what creates the gap that we fall into, it’s the absence of your presence.
You’d think that this distance between us would keep us apart,
but we’re closer than we’ve ever been.
I don’t need a map to get to you, I just need a minute and maybe some music.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

