The Young Love Property

Our love is too young to know what a conscience is.
We want what we want, everything else is but an afterthought.
We are blind at times because we choose to be.
I don’t want to see the things you do when I’m not around because I do not own you, you are still your own person.
You always get what you asked for, I asked to be broken and I’m beginning to crack with no one to confide in now.
We crawl so we can learn to walk again, its a sick cycle.

For what its worth I’m not even mad.
We should not be defined by our intentions but by our actions.
You told me what I didn’t ask to know, so I told you what you didn’t expect to hear.
It is what it is, now we just have to decide where we go from here.
No pressure, no loss.

Beneath the layers of black I’m burning red, with passion, with anger, and with a light that still remains unseen.
Was it by choice or circumstance that we ended up this way?
Save your strength, let me know when you’ve come to your senses.
Why does it always seem that somebody falls in love with you when you’re ready to give your heart away?

Give me a break, give me a reason to believe in.
You can save me from myself, but there is something that I must confess tonight, and that is that I expect nothing from you.
Alone I have nothing, but with you what do I have to hold?
Some wrinkles can’t be ironed away, in the same vein that some stains can’t be removed, but let’s not worry about those things.
I won’t speak of day old hate.

I’d like to think that I’m the only one with access to the high rises of you mind, all the way down past the ground level to the basement where your passion resides.
I want to get you so excited that you jump up and down without worry because you’re fully supported.
I just want to believe that I mean something to you.
All I want is you, although the pain it costs has me at a loss.
You’re the reason I’m waiting.
I’m waiting for a reason and you’re the only hindrance that I know.
I’ve got nothing else and I wouldn’t change a thing.
My heart beats bolder, not colder because of you.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

