The Quest

The beating of my heart reinforces my belief in nothing.
Not in peace, not in war and not in what I’ve been living for.
Up until this moment I’ve had next to no clue of what I wanted for myself.
With no alibi I’ve got no excuse for falling apart.
In the aftermath of my many indecisions I have come to learn just how far I am from where I want to be.
We all can see that the only thing I’m good at is winging it.
If I could end this quest for fire I would.
All of the lights that I used to see in your eyes should be on and I should be basking in them.

I’ve held onto the dreams and ambitions of others.
I lost sight of my dreams and gave away what little I had left.
I guess all of those sacrifices chipped away at the real me.
I broke a promise I made to myself.
Never have I stood at the forefront of something I wanted solely for myself.
I’m always questioning answers, but I don’t have a clear answer when it comes to you.
The day that I saw you for who you were I knew that I had to do better.
So I said goodbye to excuses that refused to commit to something.

With so much time wasted, it won’t be easy to rebuild what I’ve let go to waste.
But if I can get back up again, so can the walls that I’ve watched crumble.
And if those walls can stand on their own, then so must I.
Knowing is nothing if you can’t change a thing.
And nothing becomes everything when it’s all that you have.
Find something to hold.
Live without being told.
Rest in peace not pieces.
The quest for fire begins now.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Quest

  1. This brought tears to my eyes.

    Like

  2. Kristin Brænne

    ★★★★★

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

