Not The One I’m Thinking Of

What am I going to do with you?
Its far too late to go through with this.
Can’t let you down, can’t pick you up.
The kind of love you want is not the one I’m thinking of.

We could spend the night trying to keep quiet what little noise escapes from our lips as we lay intertwined.
You would stay the night and keep me up until the morning light kissed us in places we’d already tried.
I’d let you have your way and you’d do just fine by your own devices I’m sure, but some things are better off being thought of and never acted on.
You see what could be, if we would only stand aside and let actions speak for us.
It’s only as complicated as we make it to be and that simply is all there is to it.

What am I going to do with you?
After all this time, now you want to go through with this?
Can’t let you go, can’t put you down.
The kind of love you want is not the one I’m thinking of.

I could show you why down is the new deep while I lose myself in you.
And I could try to ignore everyone that came before me, but somehow I know that I just wouldn’t be able to ignore all of the faces that have been here before.
Sure I’m not the first & not the last, but I am the one that could do you one better simply by putting you first.

We both know too much to play dumb at this stage of the game.
What are friends for?
I don’t want to be “what’s his name” or the next Mr. “I can’t believe I did that”, because I know all of their names even though you don’t.
So I won’t play this game, as fun as it may be.
And you will just have to stare and wonder.

What am I going to do with you?
I’m not going to do a thing.
Can’t let you down, can’t pick you up.
The kind of love you want is not the one I’m thinking of.
No, the kind of love I need is not the one you’re ready for.
What am I going to do, when you’re not ready for the kind of love I’m thinking of?

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Not The One I’m Thinking Of

  1. Poeticjourney

    Love It!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

