All That Never Was (Could Be Real)

I’ve spent so much time trying to be what I thought you needed me to be.
I’ve had a good view of all of the possibilities.
I can’t take back the words I never said.
All that never was could be real if we’d step up.
Possibilities aren’t reality.
Possibilities are made of paper, they can be torn.
Possibilities aren’t scripted, they can be rewritten.
There’s so many questions in my head.

Tell me that I’m wrong.
Tell me something.
I’m in a fighting mood, test me.
Watch me challenge you.
Go, run, run, run.
I’ll stay right here.

Forget about my mass appeal, I’m not looking for groupies.
You’re a fly girl, so take off if you don’t plan on being with me.
If I wanted to suppress something, I’d pop a pill or drown in myself.
If you ever get the nerve to respond to this, be direct.
Get to the point; we all have things to do.
Be cruel to be kind, just be something.
All I need is an answer; am I a priority or an option?
There’s so many answers in your silence.

Tell me that I’m wrong.
Tell me something.
I’m in a fighting mood, test me.
Watch me challenge you.
Go, run, run, run.
I’ll stay right here, where your voice blows in the wind.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “All That Never Was (Could Be Real)

  1. Nice post! Very profound. “Priorities” vs “Options”………don’t ya just hate even having to ask which category you fall under?

    Like

    • I hate being put in a category to begin with. But yeah, knowing which label I’m associated with would help Lee.

      Like

      • I used to put up with the “afterthought” label being attached to my forehead. I ripped that bad boy off a long time ago. Unfortunately, I looked in the mirror the other night and saw “NOITPO”……which isn’t much better. Looks like I’m gonna need some Goo Gone for that sucker! At least it won’t be as painful coming off as the last label was.

        Like

  2. This is a most excellent piece. Your writing is both captivating and inspiring to me because I can feel your perspective and mood. I love this. It really strikes me with a strong sense of urgent need. Keep up the great work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

