At A Cost

Don’t steal the covers
I need the warmth that you once had
I’m damned if you do & I’m damned if you don’t
Leave me be, but don’t take the memories
I’d like to keep some things to myself

My love was for free
But that lie came at a cost you see
I don’t want your change cus you still seem the same
Did I deserve the hand I was dealt?
I thought that we’d beat the odds
Little did I realize that you were playing games

Why am I sorry for something I didn’t do?
Losing sleep over something that already went wrong
Can’t change the way I feel
I’m such a fool cus I still see your beauty although you’re such a beast
It’s tearing me apart to the point that everyday feels empty all the same
But that’s how the story goes

I can never put the past down
There’s too much to carry
And you know this all too well

My love was for free
But that lie came at a cost you see
I don’t want your change cus you still seem the same
Did I deserve the hand I was dealt?
I thought that we’d beat the odds
Little did I realize that you were playing games

I am done with these games

 

NOTE:
This was written April 20th, 2012 & finished today.
Originally the word “beast” was actually “b%*ch”, but I decided to change it for mainstream appeal & thematic reasons.

 

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “At A Cost

  1. fresh…you went in on this one.

    Like

  2. deeply resonant. me, I’m somewhere on the same page.

    Like

  3. randalldeanscott

    No doubt a universal struggle we can all relate to on some level. Feel that the word change from bitch to beast was a good move. I enjoy the tension in this piece along with the controlled anger and disappointment. Quite an accomplishment if written during the peak of feeling such things. Very nice. Thanks for sharing this.
    ~RDS

    Like

    • Actually this was written bit by bit over different periods after things had fallen apart. The farther removed I was from the situation, the sharper my insight & writing became. Retrospect.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

