Love Last

My love is like some kind of anomaly
All I ever want is for you to be happy
So we keep on moving from step to step
All I ever want is to see you shine
Never in the dark, always lighting up your day
I’ll make it work whether or not you understand the way you move me
The distance shouldn’t matter because your heart is my boat
Every day is a journey & every night is a dream
Maybe that’s unreal, maybe it’s a fantasy love life
But honestly I love life with a side of you
I don’t want to be alone

I’m not worried about making love last
When my heart burns like a widespread chemical fire you can’t put me out
So what are you doing trying to talk me down?
I’m not on a ledge; I’m on the edge of grace when I kiss your face
That’s why I haven’t embraced your face lately
I’m not ready for takeoff; give me a minute before you blow me away
I am not the same, in fact I’m anything but that nice boy you brag about
Man I’m growing fast like a rainforest with an open heart
You keep me grounded like a tree trunk soaked in what you feel
You would see the difference if you’d just get lost in me for a moment
Somewhere inside, I cannot fight feeling like you’ve got the best of me
So it’s love again with you holding onto me
I don’t want to be alone, unless it’s with you

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Love Last

  1. Thank you for the link to Love Letters! Just thought I’d pop by and am i glad I did! What a beautiful poem! 🙂

    Like

  2. Nice poem! and thanks for visiting my blog (and liking my latest post related to this) 😀

    Like

  3. Beautiful writing! Thank you for Liking my post about John Glass. He deserves all the recognition we can muster for a life well lived in the service of others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

