Awake

I’m so tired
But I’d stay awake for you
I’ll do what it takes to see your face again
Dreams don’t cut it when I can have the real thing

I can’t close my eyes without you by my side
You keep the peace while I save your breath
Haven’t you seen the way you get through to me?
I hear you even when you’re not speaking
And I know that you feel me from afar, so I’m sure that you feel the same
Nobody gets you like I do & it shows on your face whenever we’re close

One bed with two pillows & one body just leaves too much space
It’s so easy to slip into what the rest of them do
But I can’t feel anything if it isn’t you
Maybe I could sleep with your memory, but it just isn’t the same
Because I love you & the way that you feel
You keep it real, with your big open heart & your wide open arms
All I want is you

I’m so tired
But I’d stayed awake for you
I’ll do what it takes to see your face again
Dreams don’t cut it when I can have the real thing
I’m glad you made it
You’re worth losing sleep over

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Awake

  1. I so love this piece, makes me think of the way I would miss some sleep just to be with that person or be that ear for them. I so love how your mind works! Truly a poetic soul! God Bless 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

