Missed Messages

Why am I watching movie marathons alone tonight when I know that you are free?
I saved the last piece of pie for you pumpkin.
These arms are wide open although this heart is reaching closing time.
Now the color of my shirt matches the colors I bleed when I see everything in black & white like I do tonight.
The more I try to connect, the more my feelings are lost than found.
You’d know this by now if you actually listened to a word I said.
There’s no more messages for you to miss.

There’s no use in holding onto half empty bottles of red wine when company’s not coming.
I’ve lost all feeling in my fingers so don’t hold on to me.
Not that it’s your fault for missing the clues I’ve left for you.
I’m a mystery whenever you see me because I’m done hoping for what I can’t have.
I’ve let it go & there’s no point in asking for directions to places that no longer exist.
Somewhere inside I cannot find a feeling that I got from you.
I’m right here where I’ve always been, and for once it’s not a shame.

Show me something that I can believe.
Give me something that I can hold.
Be with me without being told.
Music’s playing but no one’s dancing on the floor.
Where’s my partner at?
Conversation isn’t supposed to make me feel alone.
I can’t retrace how we got here.
Now that I’m out of range, there’s no going back.
There’s no more time for me to lose.

It’s not a phase, leaving messages is harder than it seems.
We keep repeating ourselves but nothing’s getting any easier.
One of these days saving our words won’t save us from anything.
Although it’s just a button press away, it’s still a damn ironic tragedy.
Somewhere inside I cannot find a feeling that I got from you.
These feelings have been diluted by wine & maybe that’s why I’m feeling more than fine.
I’m done dreaming about somebody missing me.
We still have dreams, but they’re not the same.
I guess I’m over the things I yearned for yesterday.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Missed Messages

  1. Happy Rider

    hola…… wanna know how i got here? I here by seeing that you used the link for purepoptropica’s “Missing” so yeah

    Like

  2. I nominated you for the Sunshine Award. I that I think your blog is inspiring. If you choose to accept the award, the guidelines are on my post: http://ladylovelyblogger.wordpress.com/2012/05/27/sunshine-award-thank-you/
    Thank you!

    Like

  3. I love this one..

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

