Impaired Vision

You love games when I’m not playing.
You once told me that you would give your life for me, but not your body.
With the promises made what else is there to be said.
Your joke was my dream & everything in between was middling at best.
Sometimes we do crazy things & dare to call it love.
Is the absence of clarity even worth seeing?
Because your sight brings me a new kind of pain.

Is this what you want for us?
Is this what you want for yourself?
To be honest, I could love you till my dying day.
But is it my love that you want to fall into?

Here is where I loved you, in the shadow of the day & in the light of the night.
As a star follows after the glow of the day, I followed after you for what good it did me.
Not for nothing, I’m just saying that I dreamed where you danced around & every move you made pushed me further out of view.
There’s always truth in silence & pain in delays, so I’m done waiting for you to say something for real.
I don’t want you to commit the sweetest sin, telling me everything under the Sun until I burn away like a bonfire made of all the tomorrows that’ll never come.

You can’t be so blind.
You can’t be so blind when you have it all.
To be honest, I could love you till my dying day.
I can’t be so careless.
I can’t be so careless when you have it all.

To be honest, I could love you till my dying day.
You can’t be so blind & I can’t be so careless.

NOTE:
This was written in May 2012, but I finally found the nerve to finish it tonight.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Impaired Vision

  1. TemptingSweets99

    Glad you finished it!

    Like

  2. Powerful.

    Like

  3. Lovely piece, I love the new look you did to your blog, I have bn sick and finally making it back to visit blogs I miss! God Bless ๐Ÿ™‚

    I do hope all is well on your end! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, it always means so much to me. I hope you’re feeling alright dear.

      Like

      • Yes, much better. I bn home since Monday from hospital. I was reading your post while away and bn very quiet. And I agree we all deserve so much better! You hit the nail on the head! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  4. Btw, I so know where you coming from in this piece. So thank you for sharing! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. “Sometimes we do crazy things & dare to call it love.”
    Loved this sentence ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

