Take The Lead

I am not leading you on that yellow brick road you’ve found yourself on.
I thought I told you that you’re not the one.
But still you think that I’m wrong.
Maybe I could change my mind, but I usually don’t.
Maybe you could be so right, but not for me at least not tonight.
So stop chasing after me, you won’t take the lead this time.

You’re free to want what you want.
And I’m free to be on my own.
Sure I like your company but you don’t own me.
So don’t place your bets on spending the night with me.
We’ll be sleeping oh so separately despite what your hands may say.

You’re good but you can’t keep up with me.
I move to my own beat.
So beat it if you can’t see what I see.
I’m not close-minded, its just that in my mind we’ve never been that close.
Look, you’re good, you’re just not good for me.
I suppose your sweet nothings should be saved for someone else who’d want to hear your every thought.
You’ll find your dancing partner somewhere.

You’re free to want what you want.
And I’m free to be on my own.
Sure I like your company but you will never be my partner.
So don’t place your bets on spending the night with me.
We’ll be sleeping oh so separately despite what your dreams may say.

I did not intend for you to want me like you do, it’s just something that I do.
I’ll be anything you want in your dreams, anything less would be reality I guess.
There’s nothing here for you to see.
I’m not a tease, but I can’t please you.
So it’s best that you move on, because I don’t want you like you want me & we’re not on the same page.

Was it something I said to keep my name on the tip of your tongue?
Sure we’ll be sleeping tonight.
Was it something I did to make you want me?
We’ll sleep separately despite what your dreams & hands may say.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Take The Lead

  1. Oh boy can I relate to this. I feel like you just completely described my last relationship.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

