The Lowest Point

I’m on my way down to the bottom for what I hope will be the last time
It can’t get much more difficult than it is
But I’ve been wrong before
Right now a breaking point sounds like a good vacation
Tomorrow I’ll be drinking to keep myself from thinking about me
Nothing seems the same & familiar means nothing when you don’t recognize what you’re seeing

Show me a way, make me find a better way
Do me a favor, don’t let me go without knowing where we stand

I don’t want to be alone, but I must be cus I’m out here on my own
Oh, there must be a silver lining & I can’t see it cus I’m running blind
These tears are tearing me up inside
Breaking down the walls I try so hard to hide behind
Its easier to seem so strong inside a house of stone before the storm

Blow me away, take me down to a better day
Take me away, wake me up to a better person

Morning light find a way into this room in my heart
Been up all night worrying about what tomorrow brings
Can’t see a thing & I don’t know if I really want to
Being blind isn’t freedom when blinding freedom comes with a clear destination
And company isn’t cheap when the company you keep isn’t worth a damn
So maybe being on my own is a blessing, but I hope that you will bless me with your presence from time to time my friend

Show me a way, make me find a better way
Blow me away, take me down to a better day

I’m on my way down to the bottom for what I hope will be the last time

Do me a favor, don’t let me go without knowing where we stand
Take me away, wake me up to a better person

NOTE:
I just wrote this 10 minutes ago as I was about to fall asleep, after being awake for the last 3 hours. Insomnia has its perks… Sometimes.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “The Lowest Point

  1. Life…ah…. I love this: ‘And company isn’t cheap when the company you keep isn’t worth a damn.’ I learn so much from the emotions that come about from an interaction with another person — it’s a hard lesson sometimes, but if I’m honest about what’s going on, it’s a good lesson.

    Like

    • I’m always learning my friend. I’d rather have a conversation with one person that leaves me feeling good than a bunch of people who leave me feeling empty or like I could have done something meaningful with my time.

      Its as much of a reflection of my current state of mind as it is reflection of the people I come into contact with. Some interactions are naturally & flow easily & other are so forced it feels like a lobotomy.

      Like

  2. Incredibly deep and may you find that silver lighting that I KNOW exists amongst the lines of our life. Ameen.

    Pink.

    Like

    • Thanks Pink. This was equally about me as much as it was other people that I feel deeply for. Silver lining is hard to find when you’ve become a bit colour blind. It’ll take time & reason.

      Like

      • Yes, it can take years, I find. To really see the color amongst the eggs fallen. But our baskets of hope remind us to collect the sweet amongst the bitter, the wiser amongst the losers. May you always reach that finish line. Ameen.

        Pink.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

