He Might Just Be The Right Man For The Job

Delroy Simmonds

In Brooklyn, New York, Delroy Simmonds, 30, selflessly jumped in front of a subway train to save a 9-month-old baby boy who was blown onto the tracks by a gust of wind.

Simmonds was going to a job interview when he saw the baby had fallen on the tracks while still being strapped into the stroller. He quickly jumped down and pulled the baby up to the platform just as the train was heading towards them.

The train was able to stop a few feet from where the baby fell. The baby suffered cuts to his head and will be fine. The baby’s parents called Simmonds a hero.

Simmonds hopes the family will be all right, now that he has been hired for the job. Simmonds, who was laid off over a year ago from a job helping kids with learning disabilities, landed a gig as a project employee doing maintenance at ABM Janitorial Services at Kennedy Airport. His new boss said that Simmonds will have the opportunity to become a supervisor given his qualifications and experience.

“What he did to save that baby, it just shows character. He didn’t hesitate. He’s got a very good attitude.” —The guy who hired subway hero Delroy Simmonds today for a job as a maintenance worker at JFK airport, where he’ll earn $9.50 an hour.

Delroy Simmonds sitting alongside Daniel Zamara & his Mother.

“That’s the little man that got me a job today,” Simmonds said with a smile at 9-month-old Daniel Zamara as he walked into his room at Brookdale Hospital today.

“It feels amazing. Just seeing him alive,” said Simmonds. “It’s a miracle.”

“A lot of people at the hospital said ‘thank you’ and ‘congratulations’ and ‘good job’,” said Simmonds. “It’s good to see that it was a life saved instead of a life lost. It makes me feel good. Everyone told me congrats on getting the job too.”

Categories: Stories & Rants | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “He Might Just Be The Right Man For The Job

  1. Edwin - Awkwardlist.com

    People like that give me hope 🙂

    Like

  2. very touching story…

    Like

  3. TemptingSweets99

    God bless him for helping out.

    Like

  4. I wasn’t going to write this but I’m gonna ……onl $9.50 an hour? WTF? Isn’t that below the poverty line? Wow! I’m grateful we have people in this world who would risk their own lives for a stranger. Kudos to him! Hopefully someone else will give him a job where he can be “comfortable” instead of having to struggle. $9.50/hr is a “struggling” wage as far as I’m concerned.

    Like

    • Hey I’m with you on this one, minimum wage here is $10.25. I thought about it, but decided not to comment on that aspect of the story. The positives are that a life was saved & he found work.

      From a PR standpoint not hiring him might negatively affect the company that has now hired him. But I’ll ignore that thought as well and leave you with this: Delroy has a job & if his selfless actions are any indication of his work ethic & morals he should move up the “chain of command” fairly quickly. Delroy is now on people’s radars, so if this employer doesn’t treat him right, another one will. Its a blessing in some form & I’m sure there will be others.

      Like

      • I would have thought there might have been many offers of employment …… that’s all. He is quite capable of moving up the ladder. His values/morals and ethics will get him far. I hope he has a much better job offer soon so he can lead a much more comfortable life.

        Like

      • Agreed. So what’s on your plate for today, are you prepping for your coronation? How much does it cost to get your crown replaced anyway? Yes I’m being a dumbass/smartass.

        Like

      • I’m just waiting to hear back from a client. Not sure if I’m doing work for them today or not. Depends on their schedule.
        Crown will cost me $1100 if I’m not covered. $550 if I am. Yikes! I’m holding off until I know more. Might take a few more weeks for insurance company to reply.

        Like

      • Yikes! Being the Queen sure is expensive. Yeah wait for the insurance coverage to settle the details. It doesn’t hurt when I make you laugh, right? Cus if it does, I’ll stop. I don’t want to cause you pain LOL.

        Like

      • LOL! No pain associated with this tooth. It’s gone through a root canal about 10 yrs ago. Didn’t hurt when I broke it a few weeks back either. My tongue hurt from the sharp edge though! OUCH! It’s been filled temporarily for now while we await word from the insurance company. What are YOUR plans for the day mister?

        Like

      • I’m joining my friend for a drink after work, he’s had a rough night dealing with selfish family drama. I also made plans for dinner tomorrow with a friend who’s gonna be out of town for a bit. Got some banking & business to tend to before lunch.

        And I’m making it my personal mission to make at least one random beauty smile today. I don’t care about numbers, I care about the conversation. And i’ll probably call my friend’s wife & bug her for shits & giggles.

        Like

  5. Awesome post of the greater side of humanity. Thank you.

    Pink.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

