The Day After

The day after yesterday is the first step towards change.
Yesterday everything seemed so bleak & foggy, but no one can hurt you now.
There comes a day when all the monsters & fires must be put out.
Believe me, I’ve been there too.
You’ve had your missteps & fallen a time or two, but today your fall will be broken.
Just close your eyes & let me catch you.
Don’t look back, the door has already closed on the world outside.
You’ll be more than fine, just give it time.
You’ll be set free, without boundaries.
The day after yesterday is a far cry from all the things you’ve seen.
Today will be different.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “The Day After

  1. Just what I needed to read this morning. Thank you 🙂

    Like

  2. I needed this one too……thanks Q! 🙂

    Like

  3. this goes great with my morning coffee!:]
    also kind of reminds me of Paul Mccartney’s “Yesterday.” Or am I alone on this one?

    Like

    • I don’t think I’ve ever had a woman enjoy Quammie with her coffee. Kidding. Wow, that’s quite the compliment to even be put in the same sentence as Mr. Mccartney’s amazing song, “Yesterday”.

      “Love was such an easy game to play
      Now I need a place to hide away
      Oh, I believe in yesterday”

      Like

      • Haha, do not lie. Quammie is right on top of the list after coffee mate and a cigarette. You should tell a woman this.
        Well, that’s what it reminded me of. Paul and I have a secret relationship no one knows about.

        Like

      • ROFL!! Janette! That would sound SO cocky, even coming from me. Oh the secrets I have seen. So what’cha doin’?

        Like

      • You never know till you try! and then write about it later. (smiles)
        Oh i’m drinking my coffee, reading/ Googling. The usual.

        Like

  4. Thinking about the consequences of our words and deeds is critical to being a person of integrity. Nice job of reminding us.

    Like

  5. can’t fly back to the past, but today is a new day and so will tomorrow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

