Impression

There is not a scratch on you that time can't heal.

There is not a scratch on you that time can’t heal.

Fantasy calls as dreams draw on the things we used to do.
Skin to skin we created a spark.
Everything we said felt like it was written in stone.

I left a mark on your walls.
My fingerprints only appear on your mirror after you’ve showered.
They never truly go away.
My scent lingers in the clothes you wear.
You can feel the warmth inside you every time you close your eyes.

You left an impression in my bed.
And when I’m under the influence of these sheets, I still see you there.
Feel you drifting over my body when the wind kisses me.
Shake it off, shake it off, this caress isn’t real.

Fantasy calls & rings emotionally true.

Time will tell you what you are & what I’m not.
You’re a memory of a dream & I’m a thing of the past trying to be present.
And there is no real future in that.

Every kiss is a future’s stamp of approval.
New ones are always made, just give it time to set in.
Break the mold & try something new.
This first impression won’t be the last.
Life has a way of adding touches to every day.
Something special will come & make you feel brand new.
There is not a scratch on you that time can’t heal.

* NOTE: I wrote this a month ago, but was never ready to release it. Now seems like a good time to set it free, since it’s too good to delete. Enjoy! *

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Impression

  1. TemptingSweets99

    LOL! Yes, this IS too good to delete. Glad you didn’t delete.

    One of my fave lines: “Time will tell you what you are & what I’m not.”

    Like

  2. Beautiful indeed… Delete??? Never!
    ~Felicia

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

