Caution to the Wind

image

Caution to the wind…

What sets you free, holds onto me
I don’t feel the same way anymore
Every step shows my age, until the hurt has passed away
You see everything that you want
And I’ve burnt bridges, so that you might see me crossing over

Caution to the wind
We weren’t raised to fall
Tell me do you still believe?

If it wasn’t for my absence, you wouldn’t see me when you fall asleep
Can’t get close from a distance without a heart to hold
There’s no need to read between the lines
Awake or asleep, all I do is dream of you, the one I used to know

Subtlety’s beneath me when you’re before me
Stop missing me & just be with me when you’re on fire
When a heart beats slow, surely we show it
And when it rages
Every touch spreads like wildfire, claiming every life in reach

Caution to the wind
We weren’t raised to fall
Tell me do you still believe?

What sets you free, holds onto me
Tell me do you still believe?
Believe in me

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Caution to the Wind

  1. This is confusing. I mean the first 2 lines throw me off from the rest of the poem. Can you help me with that?

    Like

    • Sure thing, thanks for asking. The first two lines are about what happens when you’ve been around someone for a long time. Their ways or habits become yours. You become accustomed to certain actions or behaviors, this can be either a positive or a negative thing.

      When you’ve been exposed to someone you change. In this case the way I felt about this person & also the way I processed thoughts & emotions in general changed after being around this individual.

      Like

  2. Ok I understand it more now, but now I wonder then why does it say “the one I used to know?”
    You know I ask because I care, but also a lot of what you write is very relatable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

