Two Face

image

Should beauty make me feel this way?
Skin deep isn’t as deep as I need you to be
Sure, you’re easy on the eyes
But I can’t look at you the same way anymore

You can’t make a first impression twice
None of this “fake it to make it”

What you don’t understand is
The beauty below the make up is what I want to breathe for
Like lipstick, your words leave a mark on me
I do a double-take every time you speak in tongues so tainted

You can’t hide behind a mirror
Show me your good side, if you still have one
You’re no better than you appear
Bad ways always destroy beauty
It’s such a shame

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Two Face

  1. You have beautifully captured an insight that is central to our understanding of ourselves. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

