Your Silence

I like your silence
And the volume at which it speaks
Its honesty emits a truth which words sometimes forget
The sound of silence can be deafening for some
Pregnant pauses become overdue until something must be said

You could be cruel
You could be kind
You could also be mistaken

You pick your pauses so carefully that what follows must be heard
Flooding our ears with unthoughtful words is emotional pollution
Have a moment of silence
Breathe and stop
Wait and see
Choose your battles carefully

Your tongue rests with angels in spite of all the hell it could awaken
I may not always understand your silence, but I know where it comes from
Birthed in a place of patience
Raised with peace of mind
Walked a mile with empathy
The space between your words reveals what words can’t

For every Speaker, there is a Listener
For every word, one must be heard

I see your silence
I can still hear what you mean
I feel your silence
When I can understand your heart

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Your Silence

  1. Enjoyed this. And love this line – Flooding our ears with unthoughtful words is emotional pollution

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.