Live Wires

I’m sure that I’ve done it this time
Got too close & lost my damn mind
Said things that I know I’ll regret tomorrow
Cus I want you to stay, just a little too much

Dead phones & live wires
It might be too late for sorry
Too far to come back
Red lights are screaming
Cus I keep tripping wires

Why do lovers become liars?
I want to make you smile
But I end up doing the complete opposite sometimes
I have a habit of breaking things
I want to fix this & it starts with you

There’s no room for logic when you’re in pain
Apologies aren’t the same as some consideration
And silence screams louder than any siren ever could
So love me or leave me until it’s understood
Can’t always play it safe
My heart is saying ‘go’, but the warnings keep saying ‘no’

Dead phones & live wires
It might be too late for sorry
Too far to come back
Red lights are screaming
Cus I keep tripping wires

For so long I’ve tried to get into you
I want to give you all of my time
And I’m sure you’d take it
But would you just take me for a ride or keep me for good?
I’ve got so much love to give
But I can’t give it to you in small doses

Sure I keep tripping up, I admit it
But I don’t see you tripping over his moves
Every time you run, I lose control
Cut the lights & call off your guards
The only electricity we need is in our lips
You shock me with just a wink & a smile
I only hope that you get a rush as I take your hands

Dead phones & live wires
Give some face time a try
A little human contact before the night is over
Red lights are screaming
Cus I keep tripping wires

But I won’t run, if you won’t
Stop dodging commitment
Stop tripping, stop running
So scared of making mistakes
Don’t run, I won’t run

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Live Wires

  1. Fantastic! Want me to write the music? haha
    Thanks, just what I needed to read tonight. Really, it was!

    Like

  2. ~REBECCA DAWN~

    as always, Stephen you manage to move me with your words!
    my favorite part?
    “For so long I’ve tried to get into you
    I want to give you all of my time
    And I’m sure you’d take it
    But would you just take me for a ride or keep me for good?
    I’ve got so much love to give
    But I can’t give it to you in small doses”

    really makes my heart tug!
    Seriously, if you are still single, what the hell is wrong with people??
    dang! you are so romantic!

    Like

    • Things are never as simple as we’d like them to be, sadly. On the positive side, it means that I get to have random misadventures in sex & dating. Sorry I haven’t been posting as much lately, just been busy.

      Like

  3. Beautiful peice, I love it… God Bless 🙂

    Like

  4. Nice piece Q! Kudos!

    Like

  5. Again FIRST CLASS! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

